Fantasy Character Interview #2

DragonReading_Logo4Today, my guest is Jem, the protagonist from J. Clarke’s novel “DragonZ Eye”. It is the first novel in the author’s fantasy adventure series for children, Dragon Freedom.

1. Tell me a little about yourself—your name, age, where you live, do you have a family, the usual.

Hello, my name is Jem. I am thirteen and I have a younger brother, Ray. He is always getting into trouble but he’s fun to be with. Don’t tell him I said that though! We live in the south of England with our Mum. Dad left us to live in America. We never see him. Mum works nights mostly, so she can be here when we are. We have a fairly normal life. Well we did.

2. What happened to you, so you ended up in this crazy adventure the novel talks about?

Mum persuaded us to go and spend the summer holidays at her Aunt’s house in France. It was that or go to a holiday camp. Yuck, I hate them. So anyway, we meet our rather eccentric Great Aunt Hortense, who is known as Ortie, and she sends us off on brand-new bikes before we have even gone into her house! We make some strange discoveries and before we know it we are trying to save the world! I know it sounds crazy, but that’s what happened.

3. If you could go back to the start of your holidays would you change anything?

Phew, that’s a good question. Um. No, I guess I am proud to have the chance to do something, and I have learned loads in such a short time. Maybe I’d change one thing… no, not even being scared, its all part of the adventure. I just hope we can do what we need to in time.

The author’s Facebook page

You can buy the book at:

This entry was posted in Character interview, Fantasy, Olga Godim, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

