Fantasy Character Interview #7

DragonReading_Logo4Please meet Hope, the protagonist of Mike Reeves-McMillan’s fantasy steampunk novel Hope and the Patient Man, Book 3 of the Gryphon Clerks series.

1. Tell me a little about yourself—your name, profession, where you live, do you have a family, the usual.

My name is Hope at Merrybourne, because my parents work for the Countygold of the Western Isles at his Merrybourne estate. My mother is his estate manager and my father is his secretary. They… to say that they don’t get on is something of an understatement. I’m trying to work out why that is exactly, because I’ve met this man, and I’d like to build a life with him, but I’m afraid that whatever’s wrong with my parents’ bond might affect me too. And there are other considerations, which I’ll talk about in a minute.
I’m a mage, specializing in energy magic, though I earned my mage-minor bangles in mindmagic and lifemagic before… well, before I was forbidden to study them any more. That’s part of the other story too. I got to be a mage because I showed talent when I was young, and happened to discover some hidden writing in an old Elvish book that turned out to be a very useful spell. I live in Illene now, the university city where I trained. It’s a long way from the Western Isles, and very different, but I’m growing used to it.
I work for the Realmgold’s clever man, an eccentric inventor, and we developed magical devices together which allow people to communicate over long distances. We’re reliably informed that it helped shorten the recent Unification War and saved a good many lives. I met my friend, my gentleman-friend, at the ceremony where we were honored for our work with the farspeaker devices. He was injured in the war while doing something very brave, and he was there to be honored as well.

2. What happened to you, so you ended up in this crazy adventure the novel talks about?

Well, that’s rather embarrassing. You see, while I was at university I had a lover, and one evening I was unexpectedly off work and went to see him unannounced, and discovered him with someone else (someone who later became my best friend, but that’s another story.) So I cursed him with impotence. It seemed like the thing to do at the time.
But you can’t just throw curses around without any consequences, and it splashed back on me and prevented me from, you know, feeling anything for a man. Not to mention that it was against university regulations, and I had to take the curse off him, and nearly got expelled, and was forbidden from studying mindmagic and lifemagic any more, and lost my scholarship.
So now I have this curse, and I rather like my gentleman-friend but I’m afraid it won’t work out between us because of it.

3. So what are your current problems?

Well. The curse, obviously, and the mystery of what happened with my parents. The Master-Mage, my old mentor, wants me to teach the clever man’s mathematical-magical notation to other people, and he says if I do a good job he’ll make me a Senior Mage. That would be wonderful, but as a side effect of the curse I fell and hit my head, and I get these headaches and can’t seem to concentrate on anything, so I’m missing deadlines. It’s all rather difficult, and I’m not sure how it will all work out.

You can find Mike Reeves-McMillan on:
•  His blog
•  Google+

The novel is available on Amazon

This entry was posted in Character interview, Fantasy, Olga Godim, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

