Fantasy Character Interview #11

DragonReading_Logo4Today, my guest is Elendir, knight of Ten-Ar, the protagonist of Laurel A. Rockefeller’s novel Ghosts of the Past, #2 in the author’s Peers of Beinan series. The genre of the novel is medieval science fiction murder-mystery.

1. Tell me a little about yourself—your name, profession, where you live, do you have a family, the usual.

My name is Elendir, knight of Ten-Ar. Born on BE 6767, beinor 50 in the capital city of Hejing, I am an older brother to Lady Althea, our new Ten-Arian abbess. When my sister was just three beinors old, our father, Lord Healer Devon, perished when terrorists bombed Nan-li Central Healing Center. Our mother, Lady Healer Keelia, tried to raise us both as best she could, but in the end brought us to the Ten-Arian monastery, where we grew up. She herself perished when she returned to work at Our Lady Healing Center in the nearby coastal city of Bira Hecen.
During my studies, I met Queen Darla’s son, Prince Kendric, a young man slightly older than I, who taught laser epee. A life-long friendship developed between Kendric and me. When Lord Yelu murdered my dear friend only twenty yen-ars into his reign as king, I continued to watch over and protect Kendric’s family–first his daughter, the newly crowned Queen Constance, and then her children Prince Caranden, Princess Leonora, and Princess Anyu.
This beinor I live in secret, organizing the resistance against Lord Yelu’s tyrannical coup d’etat, hoping that at least one of the queen’s children remains free and able to return to help us free our people.

2. What happened to you, so you ended up in this crazy adventure the novel talks about?

The murder of my parents haunted me across my youth. Upon my elevation to knighthood at the age of sixty yen-ars, I petitioned Prince Kendric for permission to investigate my father’s murder. My quest to find the truth spanned many yen-ars and took me through many crazy adventures. Being especially reckless in my youth, I made some terrible decisions during my quest to find the answers I needed, allowing people to use me to hurt those I love. But in my journey, I also found peace and hope for the future.

3. Tell us something that you hope no one on Beinan ever finds out.

I hope Queen Constance never finds out that I know all about her connection to Lord Morlong and the ways he has influenced her since the death of her husband, Lord Engineer Kian of house Xing-li. I hope no one on Beinan finds out that I do not trust Morlong, despite his apparently “good” counsel and advice, and suspect him of treachery.

You can find out more about Laurel A. Rockefeller on her website, Facebook or Twitter

Buy Ghosts of the Past on Amazon

This entry was posted in Character interview, Olga Godim, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fantasy Character Interview #11

  1. Harliqueen says:

    Always enjoy character interviews 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on The Peers of Beinan series on Word Press and commented:
    Lord Knight Elendir emerges from his resistance cell to talk with Olga Godim

  3. Julie Luek says:

    Oooo a murder in the background. Great teaser.

Leave a Reply

