Wattpad and Pinterest

I’m exploring new social sites.

1. http://wattpad.com is a site where writers post what they want, and readers read what they want. Everything is free. Some writers post serial novels there or updated versions of the same story, based on the readers’ comments. Like any other site, it takes time to establish your name and following there.
Several days ago, I posted my first story on the site, a flash fantasy Basilisk Contract. It’s already had over 30 reads and a couple votes. Not bad for a newbie.
Its blurb: “How to make a basilisk steak out of … something else.” You can read it here.
Today I posted a new flash story there – Don’t Believe in Trolls.
Its blurb: “Bell knows how to disable a malevolent troll. Do you?” Read it here.

2. http://pinterest.com is an image site everyone knows about. I love it. I already have several boards, some connected to my writing, others not. The site is sneaky, it gobbles my time. I log in and before I know it, a few hours have gone. I must limit myself there or I’ll have no time for writing left. What I like most on Pinterest are the fantasy art boards. They are marvelous, with hundreds of pins, some of them by immensely talented artists. I re-pinned a few to my own board.
I love fantasy art, not surprisingly, because I love fantasy as a genre. I read it, I write it, so of course, I like the imagery too. But … I’ve been looking for an image that would reflect my heroine from Almost Adept, Eriale, and so far, I’ve been unsuccessful. Among hundreds of sexy half-naked girls and elves with different accessories – from swords to fish tails – I couldn’t find one image of a fully clothed, sophisticated sorceress of seventeen with long black braids. She is petite and slender, no boobs to speak of, no sexual allure at all, except the magical power she wields.
As I searched for Eriale’s portrait, not one image on Pinterest or deviantART resonated with me. Very few came even close. I wasn’t expecting an exact match, but even an approximation was elusive. Why are female magicians often depicted as either super sexy or super mysterious is beyond me. Eriale is neither. She is very down to earth girl, bookish and slightly nerdy, even though she lives in medieval times (kind-a).
I’m thinking of announcing a contest for her portrait on my site, with my novel as a prize, but I’m not sure there will be any participants. Maybe if I advertise in the right places. For now, I’ll keep looking on Pinterest. I might find something after all.

This entry was posted in Fantasy, Magic, Olga Godim, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wattpad and Pinterest

  1. Widdershins says:

    Way to go!!! 😀

  2. Carmen Fox says:

    Funnily, Pinterest has recently been on my explore list. I know Kickstarter people use it to display their art, but I only recently discovered it could be used by authors, too. Not sure if I need another time-eater in my life, but I’ll give it a go. 🙂

  3. Rebecca says:

    Interesting idea: to use pinterest to source an artist for cover design. I had the same problem when I needed a dragon image. My dragons don’t look like off the shelf.

  4. I simply couldn’t depart your web site before suggesting that I extremely loved the standard
    information an individual supply for your guests?
    Is going to be back incessantly in order to investigate cross-check new posts

  5. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you could be a great author.I will ensure that
    I bookmark your blog and definitely will come back later on. I
    want to encourage you to definitely continue your
    great work, have a nice afternoon!

Leave a Reply

