Promotion – ready, aim, fire

When a writer promotes herself, how should she target her promotional arrows? Does my promotion aim in the heart of specific readers, so those readers will fall in love with me as a writer? Or the aim is to make them interested in one selected title?

I’ve been putting my short stories on wattpad, one at a time, and letting people in my social media circles know. One of the sites where I posted this info was a readers’ group of my publisher. I published two novels with them and I thought that any promotion of their writer, even for an unconnected title, will be considered a promotion of that writer’s every title, including the novels published with them. My publisher disagreed. She asked me to refrain from posting the info about my wattpad stories on that group. Of course, I won’t do it anymore. But it started me thinking. Isn’t any promotion of my fiction a good thing? I’m promoting my name – my brand. It could lead to my novel sales too, right? At least in theory. Or am I wrong? If I market one of my stories, doesn’t it mean I’m silently promoting all the others?

A post for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group

IWSG

 

This entry was posted in Insecure Writer's Support Group, Olga Godim, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Promotion – ready, aim, fire

  1. That is why most authors self-publish these days. You do most of the promotion yourself, and you find no support in your publishing company. That is not fair!

  2. Widdershins says:

    I think in circumstances like this publishers can’t/won’t see the bigger picture. All they see is their exclusivity being eroded. The more writers who self-publish, (either all or some of their work) the tighter they circle the wagons, little realising that the horse has already left the barn – to mix my metaphores 🙂

  3. It’s very interesting that your publisher doesn’t want you to promote your self-pubbed works. Maybe he/she thinks Wattpad has a bad reputation? Or they don’t want you referring to those stories because, they, the publishers, haven’t vetted the writing there? It’s a mystery.

  4. Gina Drayer says:

    I think there is some validity to this argument. I’ve bought books from people in the past SOLELY BASED on the fact I found them entertaining or informative on social media. People can find books many ways. Discovering an AUTHOR is just as valid as discovering a book.

  5. I’m not on Wattpad, but I doubt my publisher would mind me posting free stories there and linking to the ones I have published with them. Seems like good promotion to me.

Leave a Reply

