Cover unification project

IWSGA post for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group

I recently read The Rosie Effect, a novel by Graeme Simsion. Its hero Don has Asperger syndrome, a psychological condition that makes it necessary for him to have a very orderly life: all activities are scheduled, all chores belong to the prearranged to-do lists, all meals adhere to the weekly menus (orange juice on Fridays), etc.

I have Asperger too, although to a lesser degree than Don. I crave order in my life as well, and this craving pushed me into an interesting writing-related project.

Over the last few years, more than a dozen of my short stories were published in various magazines. As I retain the rights to these stories, I decided to make them available to my readers on Wattpad, where each story can have its own cover. I scoured the Internet for the best free images and created a cover for each story.

After I posted all the stories on Wattpad, I looked at their covers, and a doubting worm started squirming in my head. The covers looked too different, the fonts and styles all over the place. To satisfy my Asperger-driven need for order, I decided to change all the covers, to make them conform to a certain stylistic standard. Simultaneously, such a uniformity would create my own ‘writer’s brand’ on Wattpad, at least in theory.

I reused the same images as before but I designed the covers differently. On all the new covers, the title is below the image, the author’s name above the image, and all the covers have a frame. I used the same font for the author’s name everywhere and another font for the titles.

The covers still look ‘home-made’. It’s clear no professional artists or cover designer has ever touched them, but at least they are unique, exclusively mine. Nobody’s covers look like them. Is it bad? Is it okay? Did I go overboard with this project? Should the covers have more of a variety? After all, the stories don’t belong to the same series or even to the same genre. Should the covers have a distinctive professional quality? After all, I’m not selling them.

To judge, you can see all the covers on my special board on Pinterest.

For those curious enough to read, the stories themselves are here.

This entry was posted in Olga Godim, Short Story, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cover unification project

  1. jenlanebooks says:

    Hi Olga, I really like the uniformity and design of the covers. Well done! That’s a lot of work. Have you seen the TV show Parenthood? It features a teen boy with Asperger’s, and I wonder how accurate the portrayal is.

  2. The covers look great! And I think it’s a good idea to have some uniformity because it’s a clue for readers who like your stories–they may not remember your name but they’ll remember the look of the cover. I’m embarrassed to say how often I use covers to quickly judge whether I’ll be interested in a book or not.

  3. What you have done is exactly as I would have done. Who cares if the genre’s differ and they are not all one cohesive adventure. You have created that brand, that style which at a glance tagged the work as Olga Godims.
    Bravo!

  4. Widdershins says:

    We only have about 5 – 20 seconds these days to capture soneone’s interest. The uniformity of your text allows your brand to be recognised almost instantly, which then allows them more of those precious seconds to consider the story itself. I really like the font you’ve chosen and the artwork. I get a real sense of … well … whimsey, comes to mind 🙂 … nicely done.

  5. James Pailly says:

    Normally having everything look the same would bother me (unless we’re talking about a single series). But in this case, you have such a diverse collection of cover images that the uniformity adds a lovely sense of cohesion. I’m sure it took a lot of time and effort to do this, and it was well worth it.

  6. Arlee Bird says:

    The covers look beautiful! I think order is a great thing. I need more order in my own life.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  7. Are you kidding? Not looking pro? Needing more uniformity? No! These are stunning in my humble opinion and make me want to read them. I like exactly what you’ve done with the font, the colors and the images. Very well done. Your intuition is in good working “order!” Thanks for sharing these with us and I’m following your board now… Happy New Year! Lisa @ http://www.celticadlx.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

