My percentage sucks

IWSGA post for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group

I have just started a new series on my blog – interviews with fantasy artists. I contacted a few artists but so far got only two reply. Two artists out of four agreed to an interview, and only one sent me her answers. Here is the interview itself with the wonderful artist Ravven.

I’ll contact more artists soon and I hope some will be willing to appear on my blog but I wonder: why is the percentage of feedback always so low? I have over 150 followers on my website, a modest number to be sure, but when I publish a new post, I only get a few ‘Likes’ or comments, less than 10% of my subscribers. Does it mean I say nothing interesting? Or don’t offer enough incentive? Or don’t advertise sufficiently?

What is your average feedback percentage?

 

 

This entry was posted in Insecure Writer's Support Group, Olga Godim, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My percentage sucks

  1. eclecticalli says:

    Low… there are a lot who will read but never show up on your stats — and there are some who will never quite get to reading… I have over 3k followers, but my reading/response rates are pretty darn low for those numbers. I just keep going, knowing that: the numbers will fluctuate, the responses will vary, it may take time before I get a response, and slowly I am building a group of loyal readers who will read and interact (which is the ultimate goal, at least for me). It’s just a slow… slow.. slow process.
    Sometimes I feel like life is just constantly reminding me that patience is a good trait to cultivate…

  2. cheriereich says:

    I think less than 10% is actually average for blogs. Not everyone who reads a post comments or will click like on it. As for emailing people, I receive 5+ emails a day from publicists/publishers/authors asking me to read and review their books. I have on my blog and website that I’m not open to unsolicited reviews. If I don’t know the person, I just delete the email without responding back. Sometimes I feel bad about it, but I don’t want to spend a portion of my day answering emails when that person could have taken a moment to do their research and see that I wasn’t accepting review books. So sometimes if you don’t have a connection with someone, they might delete the email without looking or considering the offer.

  3. nellirees says:

    Yes, sometimes it gets to me too: even on FB where I have lots of friends – literally, real friends, people who I know and who know me – not very often I get lots of “likes” or comments. Does this mean I’m not “popular”? Or nobody’s interested in my opinions?.. Ah never mind, just keep plugging away! 🙂

  4. I always get lots of hits and views on my site, but the comments never seem to reflect that. I guess the majority of people are fly by readers. It doesn’t say anything about us really.

    ~Patricia Lynne aka Patricia Josephine~
    Story Dam
    Patricia Lynne, Indie Author

  5. dolorah says:

    One percent seems to be a norm. Out of curiosity one day, I really looked at Alex Cavanaugh’s comments – the number on several posts in a row – after he celebrated his over 2000 followers land mark. Anywhere from 80-120 (non-IWSG days), and some of those are his responses (very few). I was surprised he does no get more than that, given all the commenting and following he does on so many blogs.

    Certain kinds of posts will get the lurkers to comment, but I never know what will please followers that never comment. I don’t worry about it, and just cultivate relationships with those that do comment. The Lurkers are likely getting something from your posts or they would not have followed you 🙂 I have to admit, I still spend some time Lurking.

  6. Widdershins says:

    About the same, but … that doesn’t mean people don’t read my posts on all sorts of devices and platforms that WP doesn’t account for, including emails. Also just because a post doesn’t get ‘likes’ or comments doesn’t mean that they’re not being read.

    Above all don’t let the ‘numbers game’ sway you. The other day the hits on my blog jumped by a factor of 10!!! … and the next day went back to their normal stats.

Leave a Reply

