Where are my millions?

IWSGIt’s the first Wednesday of the month again, time for a post for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group

I wrote about this before, but the issue has been bugging me, so I’m venting it here again. I put my regency novella Fibs in the Family on Wattpad, and as of this writing, it has 154 reads, which made me happy. People were reading my story, right? I also entered it into the Wattys2015 challenge, which meant for me adding a tag #wattys2015 to the story.

Then I did something stupid and spoiled my happiness: I decided to check who else is in the challenge and how many reads they have. The list of participants is very long, and the top entries are roughly those with the most reads. Do you know how many reads the top ones have? 20million. 30 million. My piddling 154 doesn’t count. It doesn’t qualify to show up at all. Maybe on page 4,731… I didn’t scroll that far.

I wonder: how do they get those millions? Who are their readers? And if they have so many readers already, why don’t these writers snatch their stories off Wattpad and publish them for profit. They could get millions of $$$, right?

Something doesn’t add up here, but I can’t figure out what. Are those millions real? Anyway, the entire number game made me unhappy.

For those kind enough to add to my numbers, you can read the story here.

 

This entry was posted in Insecure Writer's Support Group, Novella, Olga Godim, Regency, Romance, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Where are my millions?

  1. nellirees says:

    As one of the characters in “The Painted Veil” by Somerset Maugham (one of my fave writers) said, “don’t let these trifles vex you”. Come on, Olga, we want your energy and enthusiasm for writing! 🙂

  2. First of all, remember that the road to disaster is paved by comparing yourself to others. You know who else had millions of views? Rebecca Black. And you don’t hear too many people saying wonderful things about her, do you now?

    The thing is, those writers with millions of views may have them because their stories are absolutely astounding, or they may have them because they struck just the right combination of keywords that led people to those stories. Those millions of people could have loved the story, or the overwhelming majority of them could have given up after the second page because it was absolute filth. There’s no sense in comparing your success to the “success” of others, because you don’t necessarily know the whole story.

    Plus we all have to start somewhere. I can tell you that your 154 reads outweigh my roughly 50 sales. ^_~

  3. What an oddity? Do folks buy those too? I know someone on twitter sells followers, but in the millions? Don’t get it, and completely understand your angst. Can you ask Wattpad, is there someone in charge? The numbers game is mostly a lie, at least that’s what I’ve found. Totally unfair. Just keep submitting and doing your thing – like they keep telling me, someday, somehow it will happen!

  4. dolorah says:

    That is insane. But as Nell says, you don’t know that someone actually read the entire story, or just clicked on it several times a day. I’d be happy if 154 people read my story. And, a free read does not equate to sales of all products. Just keep hanging in there.

  5. Olga Godim says:

    Thanks for your support, ladies.

  6. Denise Covey says:

    Hello Olga. There are people who know how to rig these things, so I never waste my time. It’s a popularity contest. I’ve been over to read your story. I didn’t get it finished. But I will come back when I have more time. 🙂

  7. Lidy says:

    I’ve always wondered that too and if there is some trick or secret formula to it. But it’s best to ignore the numbers and just write and trust in the stories you write.

  8. I try to steer clear of looking at numbers. They are always depressing. If I knew the magic way to get the numbers, I’d share, I swear!

  9. Bots. I always blame it on bots. Seriously, 20 millions reads in unreal. They’ve got some kind of program running in the background to boost their hits.

  10. nickielson1 says:

    Compariing yourself with others is poison! I know exactly how you feel – when I wrote fanfiction I’d be giddy over getting even a handful of reviews. When I started paying attention, I realized others were getting 100s per chapter. Those writers are probably just more established in the community. They’ve got their audience built in. Yours is just starting. 154 is awesoome – and it’ll keep growing from there.

Leave a Reply

