Disobedient story

stubborn story imageI’m writing a new short story, and it doesn’t behave. I want it to do one thing, go in one direction, and it stubbornly refuses. Like a cat that walks where it will and doesn’t heed anyone, my story seems to have a mind of its own.

I’m trying to find a way out for my fairy protagonist, but wherever I turn, I don’t see a happy ending for her. Did I put my fairy into an untenable situation?

Do your stories obey you, friend-writers? What do you do if they don’t?

This entry was posted in Olga Godim, Short Story, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Disobedient story

  1. blondeusk says:

    No my stories don’t obey me – it’s so frustrating 🙂

  2. nellirees says:

    I am determined mine do. But my husband’s just have lives of their own – all the time.

  3. Widdershins says:

    Resistance is futile … they’ll win in the end 🙂

  4. dolorah says:

    Does it have to have a “happy” ending. Can’t it satisfactorilly resolve all the issues, and still leave a bit of growth for the little fairy?

  5. Denise Covey says:

    Hi Olga. I usually go where my characters take me. It is nice when they obey, but they don’t always do so!

  6. Never, I go where they take me, even when I don’t want to. But they’re so much smarter than I am!

  7. I think that the very best stories are ones where the characters dictate the direction. Frustrating and scary for the writer, but so much more convincing. And real.

  8. I’ve not had this happen, but I think I would follow the characters. Not all stories have happy endings. Perhaps this one doesn’t. Is that bad?

Leave a Reply

