Blog platform choices

IWSG_NewBadge2016It’s the first Wednesday of the month again, time for a post for the Insecure Writer’s Support Group. 

Some marketing gurus urge writers to have their own online domain (e. g http://olgagodim.com). They say it is more professional, but I don’t have one. I blog on WordPress.com and I’m happy with the platform. It has all the features I require for my site and blog. Many others blog on Blogger, which I don’t like as much, for various reasons, but both platforms have an advantage of being old (relatively) and free of bugs (almost). Thousands of blogs using both platforms have already forced their developers to clean up the code.

Occasionally, I log on to some writer’s site hosted someplace else, with its own unique programming. Such sites are frequently original or funky, but more often than not, they cause my computer to hiccup or freeze altogether. I try to avoid such sites, even if the writers seem interesting. It’s bad for both them and me; we both lose the connection. To avoid such a conundrum with my own blog, I decided to stick to WordPress.

What do you think? What other platforms, well developed and free of glitches, do you know? Use?

This entry was posted in Insecure Writer's Support Group and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Blog platform choices

  1. M.J. Fifield says:

    I have blogs on both Blogger and WordPress. I have no issues with the WordPress site; I just forget to update it regularly.

  2. You know, I visit enough blogs that if it’s not 1. easy to find and 2. easy to comment, you lose me. That’s why I like established blogging entities. There the hybrid too where someone has a url and then embeds the blog. That seems to work better with wordpress.

  3. Mia Hayson says:

    I use wordpress.org. It’s subtly different from wordpress.com. It requires you find hosting outside of wordpress (which can suck if you don’t have the funds because you do have to pay!) but is a little more powerful than its .com sister. It’s super flexible! You can get into the code of a site and start fiddling, which is cool if you’re a weird nerd like me! There are also a lot more handy dandy widgets.

    I guess the only trouble is wordpress.org is less SEO than wordpress.com. I’ve never really looked into it deeply but I think because .com blogs are all hosted by wordpress there’s a lot of self referral whereas on .org….

    Okay, so the way I explain it is that with wordpress.com it’s like you’re living free on WordPress’s lawn and it’s communal and cool and because everyone lives so close they visit each other a lot but because it’s free it’s also crowded and wordpress won’t let you paint your house or anything because apparently neon pink is too bright. With wordpress.org you take your house somewhere else, to a different plot of land across the street. And it’s still your house, and it’s still made of the same timber as the people’s across the road, but over here you get to paint it and build a second floor and have parties until 3am. Only problem is less people come to visit because the road is so wide and when you live on WordPress’s lawn why would you hop over to the non wordpress lawn?

    Anyway, I think I’ve written the most confusing explanation in the history of ever but what I am saying is I LOVE WORDPRESS.ORG but it has it’s drawbacks (one being a lower visit rate in general).

  4. I’m happy with my Blogger blog. If I had a bit more knowledge, I could personalize it more. And I will eventually. For now, with me just being published in short fiction, I’m happy enough.

  5. I’m on blogger, and I’ve customized it a bit. It’s a bit easier for those of us who know how to code a website and make it bend at our own will – and for free. The platform is pretty stable. I’ve never had an issue. My problem is not the platform but the way people customize what is available. I’ve been on websites where the background image is loud, and the color theme they’ve selected is equally distracting, and the header image is something crazy that my eyes literally begin to hurt from trying to read a single line. I don’t know… maybe my eyes are getting weaker as I grow older… :-/

    -T

    Tanya Miranda – Writer, Dreamer, Intergalactic Superhero

  6. spunkonastick says:

    A lot of websites have room to build a blog within the site, but as you said, it does turn out a bit odd sometimes, especially if the comment area is something new.

    I’ve been with Blogger for over 11 years now. Never bothered with a domain for it, but I already own several other domains for my other sites, and that’s enough.

  7. dolorah says:

    I suppose they all have their own quirks. You can buy standard/stock anything these days, lol. I started on blogger, and stick with it because I’m used to it, even with all the other options (such as word press) out there. Besides, websites are too static, even if they do have areas for a visitor to comment on a post, the site usually isn’t visited or updated often. I like how interactive blogs are.

  8. Hi, Olga! I was pushing into blogging by a friend. He used Blogger, so I used Blogger. I like Blogger because I’m familiar with it, and it has worked well for me. I’ve become somewhat familiar with WordPress by visiting blogs of people who use it. I’m not changing to anything else, because I’m sure I wouldn’t get into all kinds of problems! LOL So much about technology is confounding to me!

  9. Loni Townsend says:

    It’s good that you like your platform! I know what you mean about the bells and whistles that don’t always work. My site is WordPress.org. I used to have a Blogger blog, but when my husband bought me my own domain, I wanted my blog on a sub page (/blog) and the way Blogger was set up, it wouldn’t let me do it. I looked at the different blogging platforms and decided to go with WordPress because of it’s prevalent user base. I’ve since stuck my blog at the root of my site because I fell in love with the theme I found. That is my favorite difference between .org and .com–the sheer number of themes available to .org is impressive, and I have the option to customize the CSS. For a computer programmer like me, that’s a big deal.

    • Denise Covey says:

      Just have to butt in here Loni to say you can customise the CSS on blogger too. And I guess I should move to .org on WP but it all takes so much time and you risk losing a lot of past work if you’re not a computer programmer!

  10. Denise Covey says:

    Hi Olga! I’ve read recently that if you’re professional, you will upgrade to a paid platform, but most likely you’ll lose all your followers. I sort of get what they’re saying, but most of us are happy with WP and blogger. Maybe we should add a website to our arsenal. I paid for a domain name ages ago (you have to repay every 2 years) but never learned how to add the URL to my current blogs. Too bad. I need to get serious I suppose, but…

  11. cheriereich says:

    I can see why a person would want to blog from their website, but it’s also as easy to link to another place for a blog on your website. For me, I prefer Blogger. I tried WordPress, but I didn’t find it easy to change it the way I wanted it. In the end, if there is an easy way for me to find the blog and comment, then all’s good.

Leave a Reply

