Wrap-ups and goals – August report

DoYouHaveGoalsIt is the last Friday of August already, time again for the monthly blog hop Do You Have Goals, hosted by Misha Gericke and Beth Fred. Here is what’s happened with my writing since the last update.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Short stories

• Wrote             – 2 stories (neither finished; together about 15,000 words)
• Submitted      – 3 stories
• Rejected         – 1 story

Novellas

One of the stories I’m currently working on is a novelette, or maybe a short novella. It’s not finished yet, but I’m close to the end. It’s a steampunk story, or something similar to steampunk. There is a dirigible travel, some adventure and magic, and it takes place at the turn of the 20th century in America.

I don’t know what I’m going to do when I finish the story. There are 3 possible routes for it: submitting, self-publishing for profit ($0.99), and self-publishing for free on wattpad. I’m still considering my options. As the story isn’t done yet, I have time. The working title of the story: Open, Charlie.

Art projects

Although I haven’t finished Open, Charlie yet, I created a cover for it. Even if I go by the submission path first, I’ll still publish it myself later, so the cover won’t be wasted. Here it is:

Cover image

Goals for September

• Keep submitting my short stories.
• Continue working on my second regency novella.
• Finish Open, Charlie. Make the decision whether to start submitting it or self-publish.
• Finish my fan fiction short story, set in Wen Spencer’s Elfhome universe, and publish it on wattpad.
• I have 3 articles to write for my newspaper in September and one maybe-article, if I could get an interview with the guy.

Save

Save

This entry was posted in book cover, Do you have goals, Olga Godim, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Wrap-ups and goals – August report

  1. Misha says:

    You’ve done great! All the best with September. 🙂

  2. Angeline says:

    Gorgeous cover! Sounds like you’re getting along really well with everything, and I wish you the best of luck with it. Looking forward to hearing about your progress next month.

  3. Love the cover! Good luck figuring out what to do with the novella/ette, and with next month’s goals.

  4. Panda Ninja says:

    Thanks great that you are working towards your goals! 🙂 that’s always an accomplishment in itself. Best of luck for September!

  5. S. M. Pace says:

    Great accomplishments. That cover is beautiful and I love the name. It’s intriguing. Good luck on deciding whether to self-pub or submit.

  6. Wow! You’re getting so much done, and you have your plans for September set. That’s great!

  7. Arlee Bird says:

    You are doing a very nice job. Even to have a rejection means you’ve taken action. Add to that all the other accomplishments I’d say you’re doing very well. I really like the book cover illustration.

    Arlee Bird
    Tossing It Out

  8. Denise Covey says:

    Olga, you had such a great month in August, also reaching the short list for the WEP GARDENS challenge when we had such a stable of great entries. Looks like your September is going to be awesome, too! All the best for writing success!

    Denise 🙂

Leave a Reply

