What I did in September

It is time again for the monthly blog hop Do You Have Goals, hosted by Misha Gericke. Here is what’s happened with my writing since the last update.

Short stories

  • Wrote             – 1 story, still WIP
  • Submitted      – 0 stories
  • Rejected         – 2 stories
  • Accepted         – 1 story
  • Published       – 2 stories

My short fantasy story, Trailing Trolls, was published in Infective Ink. You can read it here.

My fantasy novelette Grave Escape, was published as part of the series Society of Misfits by Bards and Sages Quarterly. It’s available as a Kindle single starting today, Sep 30. I don’t have the link yet, but the editor assured me it would be alive on Amazon for $0.98.

Novellas

I’ve finished writing a novelette Open, Charlie. As I always do, I’m letting it sit for a while before I go back for revisions. The time allows me to get some perspective and maybe a couple beta-readers. Now all I need to do is find those beta-readers.

Open, Charlie is a steampunk-ish story in seven chapters, 20,000 words long, set in America in the beginning of the 20th century, with a dirigible, a brave girl, and some magic. I’d love for you to read it.

Art projects

Made two covers for Open, Charlie. One is a colorful cover combining two images: Gustave Caillebotte’s rain-filled cityscape (I think it is Paris) and a portrait of a red headed young girl by an unknown artist of the late 19th century. Another is a drawing in the minimalistic style. For this one, I used my favorite source for free images – Pixabay. Haven’t chosen the final one yet but I’m leaning towards the colorful one.

 

Also created badges for the WEP October double blog hop Constellations and Halloween, hosted by Yolanda and Denise at http://writeeditpublishnow.blogspot.ca. I love the process of making the badges, and the ladies obviously liked the results. They asked me to be their permanent ‘Badge Girl’ for the WEP challenges in the future. Of course, I accepted. Here they are, my darling badges:

 

Goals for October

  • Finish and submit a story for the IWSG anthology.
  • Submit several of my stories that are currently in the rejected status.
  • Revise Open, Charlie.
  • Continue working on my second regency novella.
  • Finish my fan fiction short story, set in Wen Spencer’s Elfhome universe, and publish it on wattpad.

Save

Save

This entry was posted in art, book cover, Do you have goals, Olga Godim, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What I did in September

  1. Hi Olga. Sounds like you’ve made great progress this month. You sound as if you’re submitting stories regularly, which is wonderful. I prefer the colourful cover too. And the badges look good.

  2. Julie Reeser says:

    Wow! I love that you do writing and art. Congrats on those acceptances!

  3. dolorah says:

    Awesome accomplishments Olga. All I did was read a book and post a review. Shame, I know. I do need to get on my submission for IWSG – running out of time here. *sighs*

    I liked the minimalistic cover. Just fits the overall era/setting of the story. Of course, I’m also a fan of Cameo’s, so that may be why I like it so much.

  4. Misha says:

    You did well!

    I do like both cover images, but it feels like the second one does have something missing.

Leave a Reply

