November 2016 report

DoYouHaveGoalsIt is time again for the monthly blog hop Do You Have Goals, hosted by Misha Gericke and Beth Fred. Here is what’s happened with my writing since the last update.

Short stories

Not much is happening on this front. No new acceptances or new rejections. I’m almost done with my fanfiction story, set in Wen Spencer’s Elfhome universe. It unfolded slowly and came out longer than I expected, more of a novelette. I’m still debating inside whether I should post it as fanfiction on my wattpad page or tweak the little details that connect it to Wen Spencer’s world and submit it somewhere or publish it as an original story. Those changes wouldn’t be extensive. I didn’t use any of the author’s copyrighted characters, and all the action takes place in Vancouver, Canada – my home city – while Ms. Spencer’s novels take place in Pittsburg, USA.

One of my short fantasy stories, Tail to Treasure, a tale about a young monkey-shifter hunting for a forgotten treasure in the jungle, has been published in the November issue of Bloodbond. It is a print magazine, and I’m supposed to receive one contributor’s copy, but I guess the mailing of the magazine takes time. Haven’t received it yet.

Novellas

My steampunk novelette Open, Charlie is complete on wattpad. There are not many readers yet, but I’m hopeful. For those who were waiting to read it until it was fully posted, here is the link to Chapter One.

My regency novella Fibs in the Family on wattpad is doing very well. It has topped 13K readers, and the numbers keep climbing.

Non-fiction

Wrote three articles for my newspaper. The fourth one this month is in the works and should be ready by Sunday – my deadline.

Art projects

This is my favorite part of the report. I keep trying to make book covers for stories on wattpad, but this month, nothing was accepted by the writers. I’m still learning the craft of cover design and I enjoy the process, so that’s all good.

Made a badge for the December challenge hosted by the WEP websiteUtopian Dreams. If you’d like to participate, logon to the website on Dec 1 and sign up. The posting day is Dec 21. Those challenges are exciting. As a base for the badge, I used one of the ready photo artworks by Alan Ayers.

a566d-thumbnail_badge_girlcastle5

Another of my art projects this month was a Bingo card for romance reading on BookLikes. A bunch of us, romance lovers, are going to participate in this project in 2017, starting January. I participated in other Bingo readings on BL, and it was fun. I loved creating this card.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Goals for December

  • Resume working on my second regency novella.
  • Finish my fanfiction short story, set in Wen Spencer’s Elfhome universe, and do something about it.
This entry was posted in art, Do you have goals, Olga Godim, Short Story, wattpad, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to November 2016 report

  1. Julie Reeser says:

    This is great! Wonderful reader count on your wattpad work. That must feel great. I hope the other picks up a lot of readers who liked the first one! Your covers and badges are awesome. I know who to call on if I need one, now. 🙂

  2. Denise Covey says:

    Hi Olga! You have been busy this month, haven’t you? Congratulations on getting a story in the anthology. That’s exciting. And I’m tragic with wattpad. I just haven’t gouged out the time to use it but I must. What a great way to get readers. And I will get in and read your novella now that it’s finished. Wish we all had more hours in the day…:-)

  3. Denise Covey says:

    Oh, and nice shout out for WEP. Love the badge!

  4. That is a fantastic month’s work, Olga. And you do so well on Watpad, I’m full of admiration for your output. Well done x

  5. Marna Reed says:

    I’m loving the Bingo Romance. Got to play that with next year’s TBR pile. 🙂
    Good luck on finishing up the fanfiction, and working through the second regency novella. Sending good vibes your way, Olga!

  6. emaginette says:

    Looks like you’ve been pretty busy. I do love your badge–very nice. 🙂

    Anna from elements of emaginette

  7. Misha says:

    Great going! I really like the WEP badge. It’s gorgeous. 🙂

Leave a Reply

